My Scientist’s Heart

I am a scientist.

I have always used science to feel connected to the world around me. Everything from the cosmos to the forests to the way our memories work can be explained and explored, and as I learn about them, they become part of me.

“The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.” – Carl Sagan, Cosmos

I like to believe that I think like a scientist- where is the proof? Can the results be replicated? I want detailed methods and experiments and results. But I also feel like a scientist. Oftentimes, when I learn a new concept or theory, it embeds itself so deeply in my heart and soul that I want to sing it from the roof tops.

Did you know that in 1953 Stanley Miller and Harold Urey simulated the origins of life on earth? They proved that organic molecules that make up genetic codes and cells could be created under the conditions believed to exist on earth around 4 billion years ago.

Did you know that there is a species of Giant Stick Bug that was thought to be extinct for nearly 80 years only for a single population to be discovered on a tiny outcropping of rock near Australia?

Did you know that Jupiter’s moon Europa is covered in ice, and might have a liquid ocean beneath the surface? Far from earth, deep below a frozen icy crust, there could be conditions favorable to life.

There are incredible, beautiful things out there- ideas and theories and explanations. Whether you use it to feel closer to your God or to your existence, I believe scientific discovery has powerful impacts on our minds and also on our hearts.

 

 

Leave a Reply

